President Droupadi Murmu Reshuffles 7 Governors, Appoints 6 New Ones

On Sunday, the President of India, Droupadi Murmu, appointed governors in 12 states and a Union Territory. The two previous governors of Maharashtra and Ladakh, Bhagat Singh Koshyari and Radha Krishnan Mathur resigned from their positions. Two of the 13 new governors will be in charge of the election-bound states of Meghalaya and Nagaland.

Murmu appointed Lieutenant General Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik (retired) as the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh; Lakshman Prasad Acharya was appointed the Governor of Sikkim; C P Radhakrishnan was appointed the Governor of Jharkhand; Shiv Pratap Shukla was appointed the Governor of Himachal Pradesh; Gulab Chand Kataria was appointed the Governor of Assam; and Justice S Abdul Nazeer was appointed the Governor of Andhra Pradesh.

Justice S. Abdul Nazeer was part of a monumental ruling in the Ayodhya property dispute. He was also one of five judges on the Supreme Court bench that heard the ‘triple talaq’ case and issued a minority opinion along with then Chief Justice of India J.S. Khehar.

Governor Biswa Bhusan Harichandan has been transferred from Andhra Pradesh to Chhattisgarh, while Chhattisgarh governor Sushri Anusuiya Uikye has been shifted to Manipur. La Ganesan, the Governor of Manipur, has been appointed as Governor of Nagaland, and Phagu Chauhan, the Governor of Bihar, has been appointed as Governor of Meghalaya. Himachal Pradesh governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar has been transferred to Bihar. Jharkhand governor Ramesh Bais has been shifted to Maharashtra, and Arunachal Pradesh governor Brigadier B D Mishra (retired) has been appointed Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh.

In 1980, Bais began his political career as a councilor in the Raipur Municipal Corporation. During his time in the BJP, he won the Raipur Lok Sabha constituency seven times, becoming known for defeating formidable opponents. Additionally, he held several important posts in the party before finally being appointed Governor of Tripura in 2019. Recently, he was selected as the Governor of Maharashtra.

In July 2021, Bais relocated to Raj Bhavan in Ranchi. During his career as a legislator, he defeated several prominent figures, including veteran Congress leader V C Shukla and the current Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. In 1991, Bais faced his first electoral defeat in Raipur since 1989, losing to Shukla by a narrow margin of 900 votes. Nevertheless, he contested the results in the high court and emerged victorious.


Political Dispute between IPS Officers in Bihar Escalates

Minority Welfare Budget Cut Opposed by Opposition, Seen as Discriminatory

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Uttar Pradesh