Nagaland Embarks on Unopposed Journey Toward Governance

Nagaland Embarks on Unopposed Journey Toward Governance

Despite a large number of political parties present, the newly elected Nagaland government is heading towards a majority rule, with all parties providing unconditional support to the NDPP-BJP alliance, which won the elections last month. Consequently, the state is likely to be governed without an official opposition.

The results of the state assembly elections, which were declared on March 2, saw pre-poll alliance partners NDPP and BJP claiming 37 out of the 60 seats – with the former winning 25 and the latter 12.

NCP won seven seats, NPP five, LJP, NPF, and RPI two each, JD(U) one, and Independents four. Other political parties also secured seats in the election.

Nagaland has seen a record number of political parties win in the state assembly elections, including two new entrants – LJP(RV) and RPI (Athawale).

The NDPP-BJP alliance has yet to declare its intention to form a government formally. However, they have been granted unconditional backing from other political parties to continue ruling the state for a second term.

On Sunday, Y Mhonbemo Humtsoe, an MLA from the newly elected NCP, said that the third-largest party had submitted a letter extending ‘unconditional’ support to the Neiphiu Rio-led NDPP on Saturday.

Achumbemo Kikon, the general secretary of NPF and one of the new MLAs, noted that the party, which has two members, is likely to provide support to the government, although no official decision has been reached yet.

All political parties have thrown their weight behind the victorious NDPP-BJP alliance, paving the way for Nagaland to have a new all-party government.

In 2015 and 2021, opposition-less governments were formed during the current term of a government, but this will be the first assembly to be opposition-less before the House is even sworn in.


KCR’s Bharat Rashtra Samithi Party Seeking Expansion into North India

Leaders from Bihar Gaining Ground in Northeastern Region


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Uttar Pradesh